• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

College GPA

Phryde

Hello All,

I've got a bit of problem and i was hoping you all could give me some insight on my options.

I graduated from college a few years ago with less then decent gpa and am very interested in becoming a Navy officer. Everything on my record looks good but the gpa. I have spoken to an enlisted recruiter and he told me there was nothing he could do (which i figured not beeing an officer recruiter) and the officer recruiter wouldn't give me the time of day. She told me to enlist then try for an officer spot a little while after. However, my thinking is that could take forever.

I was wondering if my options are exhausted or if there was anyting else i could do to improve my chance of getting accepted (or at least listened to).

Thanks in advance,

-Bret

HH-60H

Manager
pilot
Contributor
Did you do a search?

I'll admit, I can't say I have seen this particular question much.

I would say get some work experience under you belt and while you're at it build up some top notch references.

BigIron

Remotely piloted
pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor
Are we talking a sub 2.0 GPA, or are we talking "I heard to be a Naval Officer you need a 3.8 or better and I only have a 3.5..."?

I strenuously discourage you from enlisting for atonement of a sub par GPA; especially if an enlisted recruiter told you to do so. When I was interested in OCS, I was in a town without an officer recruiter. The enlisted recruiter told me I needed a 4.0 to even apply. Complete lie. Don't do it.

rugby mike