• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Credit Score

livefast

This is not a topic often brought up here, but since Officers have to get a secret-level security clearance, I was curious what kind of financial criteria they look at. I'm a college student so I obviously have some debt. Will this make things more difficult?

Brett327

None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Normal debt like college loans and a reasonable amount of other debt are not a problem, so no worries there. Things that indicate problems like bankruptcy, bad history of defaulting, repossessions, collections agencies, evidence of gambling problems and other kinds of wanton financial irresponsibility are red flags that will cause DSS to scrutinize an individual a bit more.

Brett

mkoch

I'm not driving fast, I'm flying low
Actually, your credit rating can go down if you have no debt. The way to make it go up is having debt and paying it on time. A good credit rating means "you pay your debts", where as no credit rating means, "we dont know". That's why alot of people say college students should get a credit card and use it for things like gas and groceries, or get a loan for a car at some point. Those things are generally easier to get (credit cards are a joke to get these days, and cars can be repossessed, so theres less of an issue for people with no credit history). If you read through the EPSQ, they ask you about debts that are delinquent by a certain amount of time (I forget if its around 60 or 90 days). These things show up on your credit report in big bold print.