• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

engineers in the navy

jay1991

Hi, I'm a civil engineer (BS Dec12) and I've been trying to join the navy civil engineering corps, but each time I've applied I've been no select, told it was competitive and encouraged to reapply. I'm 22, 3.0 gpa, licensed eit, and I work for a midsize engineering firm. My recruiter suggests I apply for another designation, but I'm not sure what else I can do as an engineer. My parents were both navy (pilot/intel) but aren't sure what to tell me, so I was wondering if anyone knew what else I could do as an engineer and had any experience/advice?

FormerRecruitingGuru

Making Recruiting Great Again
For CEC, besides the GPA the biggest factor for selection is the interview score. I had an applicant with a 3.01 GPA (well below the competitive average), but aced the interview and got selected.

As for other programs involving engineering, there's the Nuclear Propulsion Program. Once again a 3.0 GPA is on the low side, but I've seen folks with 2.9s get selected and big Navy is hurting for Nukes.

http://www.navy.com/careers/nuclear-energy.html

If Nuclear Engineering isn't something that interests you, there's always Pilot/NFO/SWO. Many of these programs involve engineering of sorts. And of course, you can always lateral transfer to CEC later on in your career if you choose this option. I've personally seen a Pilot and a SWO make the move to CEC.

exNavyOffRec

I don't know what the thoughts are of the current CEC accessions officers but with the ones I dealt with if you interviewed with them and weren't picked up then you weren't going to get a second chance, too many people out there.

BusyBee604

St. Francis/Hugh Hefner Combo!
pilot
Super Moderator