• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Eyesight Question (sorry!)

cWood30

PLC Sr's Candidate
I can already tell through much searching and hashing over this site for the past few days that this is probably the number one asked question about the aviation program, along with, "When do I get to fly an F/A 18?!"

But I just couldn't find any tangible, up to date information to help me out.

I'm going to be going into Marine Officer Training, hopefully to be a SNA. I'm a 3rd year Sophomore at Colorado State(long story, I've got my &*%^ together now) , and I have been wearing contacts for 4 years, with a Right eye prescription of -3.50 and a Left eye prescription at -4.25. Right now, I'm just trying to make some big decisions on what I want my Marine career to be. I have a true passion for physics, aerodynamics, mainly aviation. I would absolutely LOVE to be able to pilot an aircraft, fixed or rotary wing.

My question is that is it possible for me to qualify for Aviation (as a Pilot firstmost, but NFO is fine with me) with my eyes? I have two cavaties, and no other physical problems whatsoever.

I've read quite a bit on PRK, and research PRK, and contact lenses being worn as a Pilot and as I said before, was hardpressed to find some good, concrete information. It was all sort of here and there. Thanks for any help/direction you can give me, I'm all ears to you gentlemen and ladies. ~ Chris W.

EDIT: And before anybody answers, let me just give this site a big Thank YOU!! for all the information I've found already. There are some remarkable people on this site that are helping uneducated landlubbers like me out quite a bit!

Fezz CB

"Spanish"
None