• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Grandpa's contribution to Carrier Aviation

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey everyone,

A little brief info on where i'm at. I'm a college freshman at the University of Oregon as a Business major. Anyways, I played Lacrosse and Golf in highschool, and am in a fraternity now on campus. I graduated with a low 3.3 in HS, and now currently have a 2.8(Rough First Term of School), but expect to keep it around 3.4ish realistically.

Honestly, I just want to fly. I don't care how I get there or what I have to do because I will work for it. I am about a month away from obtaining my pilots license, and have fell in love with the art of flying. I am indifferent at this point about the Navy or Airforce as they will both give me the opportunity to serve for my country, however, my grandfather was a hell diver (sb2c) dive bomber in the Navy, and retired as a Commander, so naturally i'm leaning towards the airforce.

On the navy ROTC website, it shows that my math sat score might be too low to recieve the scholarship. I recieved a 1480 total, with a 580 on my writing and a 430 on my math :(.

I have been considering OCS for either branches, however I think that would be much harder to get into than the ROTC program. I have concerns about my vision. My near vision is 20/20, but distance is 20/35 because of an astigmatism in my right eye.

I talked to a recruiter, but he definatly was lobbying towards an enlisted career, and didn't have too much knowledge of the officer programs so it didn't help me a ton. Whats your guys's take on my situation?