• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Marine to Sailor?

johnsmith3168

This summer I graduated from USMC OCS in the PLC/COMB 08. I originally chose the USMC because I was told that they were the only ones who can actually guarantee a shot at flight school before taking a comission. I have passed the flight physical in corpus christi and the only things between me and flight school now are graduation from college (dec. 08) and TBS (who knows when). I got 8's on my ASTB and am graduating with a degree in Electrical Engineering with a 3.5 GPA. I am not committed to the Marine Corps until I raise my hand and take my oath after college graduation.

I am wondering if there is any way for me to switch over to the Navy and their officer programs on a guaranteed flight school contract without having to attend OCS again. Is it possible to "get credit" for the USMC OCS and go straight to flight school after graduation from college? I have 6 friends that are doing the Navy and love every minute of it. I have only one friend flying for the USMC and he never seems to happy... I dont have a preference for platform and only care that I am flying...

I was also looking at the coast guard. And before you knock the puddle jumpers, they have guaranteed flight options, but they also have new special operations programs what will allow you to do both flying and spec ops. No where else can you do that! They also have an exchange program with the US Navy which allows the coasties to go through SEAL training and after one deployment in the teams teach anti-terrorist training to the coast guards special forces (D.O.G.). Unfortunately for me though, my college doesn't qualify for the guaranteed flight program, blue-21. :(

Herc_Dude