• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Mishap videos

GroundPounder

I have noticed that there is a policy that Naval Aviators follow that prohibits public specualtion about airplane incidents. With that it mind, why are videos that show recent mishaps and obvious fatal accidents involving carrier landings?

There is I'm sure training value to ya'll in viewing them, but I can see no reason for them to be released to the general public. I was an Infantry officer, and between that and my 17 years in law enforcement I've seen more death and destruction than I've cared to. It always amazes me that anyone would want to see crash videos for entertainment.

Are they leaked, or released after an accident investigation?

Schnugg

It's gettin' a bit dramatic 'round here...
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Often videos are made by the public (like an airshow) and are public domain.

Judge Advocate General Command Investigations may contain video evidence which can become public through the FOIA.

An example would be the ramp strike of a Hornet off Australia in early 2006 that was in the press.

HeyJoe

Fly Navy! ...or USMC
None
Super Moderator
Contributor