• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

My undergrad was comp sci and I was told I don't qualify for crypto?

mrmailer

Ok, I am applying for a commission now, and I wanted to put as my second choice crypto. However, I was told today by the recruiter he didn't think I qualified for crypto. My undergrad was comp sci and I have 10 years of linux experience as well as various programming languages and other technical computer knowledge.

Is he correct? I thought crypto was similar to IT?

port_tack

Recruiters don't always know everything. Often they know too little: just enough to be dangerous. I know an crypto officer with a theater degree.

mrmailer

Is there any reason, then, when I had a good undergrad gpa in comp sci and I'm top 1/3 in my law class that I would not "Qualify" for crypto? I'm currently an IS2.

scoober78

(HCDAW)
pilot
Contributor
I think that Crypt-O is a Restricted Line community. I'm not sure what program you are applying for (OCS?) but this may be the reason that you aren't able to select it.

Some programs...and I'm sure someone with more info will chime in here...don't allow you to select a Restricted Line community as a newly commissioned officer.

Basically restricted line means that you are ineligible for command at sea and will work almost exclusively in one area...Crypto, Intel etc...

Often they know too little:

Yeah...this could be it too...

titusmcgrifth