• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

SNA select, will I get really get the job I want?

j5kim1

Hello, I am a college student who will graduate with bachelor degree in Aviation Flight Science with commercial MEL and SEL with instrument rating in June. I am looking into becoming a navy officer to extend my avition career. My biggest concern of applying for the navy officer as a pilot is that I heard some stories that some people were stuck with duties that they did not apply for. I was wondering if any of you guys who applied to be a pilot but ended up being something else or if heard of a buddy who is stuck with a duty that he did not sign up for. Thanks.

Lobster

If you're applying for OCS and are selected for pilot I'm pretty sure the only ways you can not be a pilot is if you fuck it up or are not qualified medically to fly. As far as where you get sent during flight school and when you're in the fleet there are numerous factors that weigh in. How well you do is one of them so in a way you can control your own destiny but the needs of the navy come before yours. You should take into account being an officer first and an aviator second. If you weren't able to be a pilot would you still be happy with a career in the navy? Best of luck.

A10DCC

Pro-Rec SNA
If you are selected to be a pilot you will be a pilot unless you fail out of flight school, or are not physically qualified

Picaroon

Helos
pilot
You should probably prepare for an assload of responses about how you're not joining the Navy to "extend" your aviation career, but rather to serve your nation as a Naval officer first.