• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Swimming req’s / Learning to swim

Wingnut

Kill your television
Forgive me if I’m getting ahead of myself here, but I was wondering why there aren’t any stickies about swimming and information for anyone who isn’t capable of meeting the swimming requirements. I’m hoping we could put something together here that would answer general questions about what’s required to apply for OCS, ROTC, et al.
First of all, I’m not an expert on swimming or any such thing. I’m actually grew up a borderline aquaphobic and six months ago was capable of little more than survival floating. With that being said, here are the current questions asked on the application for commission regarding swimming ability:

Can you swim 50 yards using the crawl, breast, side, and back strokes?
Can you remain afloat for 5 minutes (prone position) without submerging or grabbing the side of the pool?
Can you jump from a 12-ft platform into a body of water?
Can you tread water?