• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Thinking about becoming an officer

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShrinkSkat

Banned
Hi. I'm new to this forum and I'm glad that I found it because I thought about possibly going into the naval branch/division of the US military for awhile.

I'll tell people a little bit about myself. I just turned 25 about a month ago. I graduated college last year. I hold a Bachlor's degre in Criminal Justice. The only problem is that I'm now finding it extrememly difficult to get a decent job. I've taken just about every civil service exam in the New York area, and the fact that I'm not scoring in the top 5% means that I'll most likely have to wait several/many years assuming I even get called. I tried for the local police dept in my area, but unfortunately it just didn't work out. I have two specific goals in mind. I'm interested in going to law school, and possibly working for the Federal Goverment (Specfically FBI, US Marshalls, SS, etc) I havent applied to any agencies yet, but I will very soon. In fact I probably should have done so already.)

I'm now back in school working on towards getting an M.A. in Criminal Justice. It's nice to have such a degree when applying to jobs, or at time of appointment....but I imagine barring extrenuating circumstances a specific degree won't neccesarily provide earth shattering differences when applying for certain jobs..unless I'm mistaken.

Another problem that I feel bad about is that I don't have any specfic skills that many of these Federal Agencies would like. (Computer, Engineering, Accounting, Multiple Foregin Language, etc)