• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Transition from NFO to pilot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spaceman Spiff

Hi, this is my first time posting, heard about this site from a fellow NFO applicant while on a lil' field trip to Lemoore NAS to check out the Super Hornets. NEways...I was wondering if there's anybody on this forum who transitioned from NFO to pilot...what the process required, is pilot more fun than NFO...etc. Thanx for any help

Kris

Phiman

On that note, how common/attainable are lateral transfers and whatnot? The reason is I was talking to one of the Lt's at the local ROTC unit and he was telling me about a couple of programs for example law where if you had more than 2 years in and less than 6 you could apply for the program go to law school, and transfer over the the JAG Corps. I guess there are similar programs for medicine, etc. I guess it would be kinda nice to be the flight surgeon when I get too old to fly. Just curious anyways.

Jeff29

Science Project
My understanding about the medical program is that for the Navy to put you through Med School, you must still be a junior officer. Additionally, they take away your rank (i.e. when you report to school, you start over as an Ensign).

Phiman