• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Dog Tags

jmiller82

Hey, I know this is probably a dumb question to some of you, since I'm a noob, I figured I'd ask anyway:
Do Navy aviators (Pilots/NFO's) still wear dog tags, or is that something of the past or something reserved just for ground guys (Marines/Army)?

squorch2

he will die without safety brief
pilot
Still required... and is a check in the block on your NATOPS checks. (annual re-quals)

squorch2

pilot
I wasn't asked for my dogtags.
From Ch. 20, "NATOPS Evaluation" -

"Area 1 - Brief
Flight Gear.

QUALIFIED. Possess all personal flight gear in accordance with applicable directives. All gear subject to periodic inspections is up to date and current.
UNQUALIFIED. Nonstandard, missing, or out-of-date equipment noted."

The dog tags are a part of your flight gear.

Fly Navy

...Great Job!
pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor
From Ch. 20, "NATOPS Evaluation" -

"Area 1 - Brief
Flight Gear.

QUALIFIED. Possess all personal flight gear in accordance with applicable directives. All gear subject to periodic inspections is up to date and current.
UNQUALIFIED. Nonstandard, missing, or out-of-date equipment noted."

The dog tags are a part of your flight gear.

I didn't have my flight gear either.

Beauty of NATOPS checks in the sim.

squorch2

pilot
NATOPS checks here are quite a bit different... there's an oral plus a sim event PLUS a flight event. Kinda weird that you guys do them in the sim... maybe your NATOPS is diferent, but our says you can't initially qual or qual after a lapse in the sim.

HighDimension

pilot
Contributor