• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

experienced pilot: will it help or hurt?

flyinag12

Texas A&M Class of '06
Hi! I am interested in applying to fly in the Navy, and have been thinking deeply about it for a long time (since I was 10). However, I never followed through and have sought a career as a civilian pilot. I currently fly corporate jets (Westwinds) for a charter operator out of Houston, and have about 1600 hours total flight time, with a few hundred in turbine aircraft, and 4 years of instruction experience. I am a recent graduate of Texas A&M with a Bachelors degree in Management with a 2.92 gpa. Does the Navy consider extensive civilian flight experience as an asset or a drawback? I understand they like to pick good people, and train good pilots, but wouldnt they love all that jet experience free of charge? I am in good physical shape and love flying (iow: very motivated to be the best pilot I can). Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

HeyJoe

Fly Navy! ...or USMC
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
I understand they like to pick good people, and train good pilots, but wouldnt they love all that jet experience free of charge? I am in good physical shape and love flying (iow: very motivated to be the best pilot I can). Any advice would be greatly appreciated!