• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Gift for newly winged son?

snamom2

I am new to the world of Navy aviation. My son is on his way to advanced flight training, and I know that his winging is about 1-2 years away. I have read about the "traditional" winging gift of "wings of gold". Where would one get them, do you need special permission to purchase them, and how much do they cost? Are there different wings for different aviation communities?

If not the "wings of gold" are there other suggestions for a winging gift?

Also, I have my father's navy wings from WWII. He flew in the Pacific theater off of an aircraft carrier. Any idea what they would be made of?

Thanks for your assistance.

SNAmom2:)

exhelodrvr

pilot
I am new to the world of Navy aviation. My son is on his way to advanced flight training, and I know that his winging is about 1-2 years away. I have read about the "traditional" winging gift of "wings of gold". Where would one get them, do you need special permission to purchase them, and how much do they cost? Are there different wings for different aviation communities?

If not the "wings of gold" are there other suggestions for a winging gift?

Also, I have my father's navy wings from WWII. He flew in the Pacific theater off of an aircraft carrier. Any idea what they would be made of?

Thanks for your assistance.

SNAmom2:)

The best gift I can think of would be to give your father's wings to your son.

snamom2

Would the wings from 60 years ago be identical to those issued now? Are there different designs for different aviation communities?

HeyJoe

Fly Navy! ...or USMC
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
The best gift I can think of would be to give your father's wings to your son.