• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

iranian tomcat data iran iraq war

SteveG75

Retired and starting that second career
None
Osprey has a great book on the Iranian Tomcats that basically backs up that data. Unfortunately, it is currently out of print.
http://www.ospreypublishing.com/store/Iranian-F-14-Tomcat-Units-in-Combat_9781841767871
9781841767871.JPG

flaps

happy to be here
None
Contributor
i have a copy. be happy to loan it to anybody who cares to read it. send a pm.

its not really very objective but not a bad read.

pretty sure we NEVER had a weather cnx the whole 3.5 years i was an instructor rio there. a few delays for sandstorms, though.

wlawr005

pilot
Contributor
wow...they were shooting down 4-5 planes a day for a few years. That's a lot.

HeyJoe

Fly Navy! ...or USMC
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Irony is even with inflated claims discounted somewhat, their successes in aerial combat exceeded the vaunted USAF F-15. Even more ironic is Tomcat in US Navy service contributed more in actual combat capability as a precision strike platform in its last years of service; a role not originally envisioned for it whereas it's aerial prowess was vindicated in Iranian service.

Catmando

Keep your knots up.
pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor
Irony is even with inflated claims discounted somewhat, their successes in aerial combat exceeded the vaunted USAF F-15. Even more ironic is Tomcat in US Navy service contributed more in actual combat capability as a precision strike platform in its last years of service; a role not originally envisioned for it whereas it's aerial prowess was vindicated in Iranian service.
All quite true, with one small additional info.