• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Vapor Trail or Shock Wave?

GrizzlyMike

Newbie Here...First Post. I was searching the net for an aviation forum to ask a question and it looked like this would be the place to ask.

I am an amateur photographer and hit a few airshows every year. During a Superhornet demo at the Cleveland Airshow I noticed a small cone forming on the canpoy area of the F18 as it executed a high speed pass and it grew larger and moved towards the rear before the pilot pulled up. It all happened over about 2 seconds. I assume this is a shock front preceeding supersonic transition or am I totally wrong?

Thanks

AS14J.jpg

Brett327

None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Generally, you are not going to get any supersonic speeds at an airshow - lots on restrictions on that and people generally frown upon having their windows broken. Like Ryoukai said, you can get all kinds of vapes in all kinds of situations, especially if the relative humidity is high. Areas of low pressure cause the vapor to condense and form vapes. Now, my jet only goes supersonic at MRT going downhill, so I'm not familiar with the particulars of the Hornet, but I'm sure someone who is can give you the details as to what you're seeing in your pic.

Brett

Road Program

Hangin' on by the static wicks
None
Grizzly...

Yeah, what those guys said. Doesn't have to be supersonic or approaching those speeds to see conning like that.

BTW...mind if I use that as my background on my comp?

SteveG75

Retired and starting that second career
None
What you are seeing is localized areas of transonic (i.e. exactly Mach 1.0) flow over areas of low pressure. This is causing localized shock waves.

After 15 years, that aero degree finally payed off.