• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Voluntary Termination

pdog79

I'm an O-3 helo pilot and due to some struggling to make HAC and personal reasons I've recently decided to voluntarily terminate my flight status. However, as much research as I've done I haven't been able to figure out what will happen now. Genav I guess? What kinds of Genav jobs are there? Are all Genav jobs just on carriers? Does anyone know if there are shore Genav jobs? Or if there any LT's who have done this before who haven't been sent Genav?
I still have a desire to serve and maybe laterally transfer but I have no idea what the committment rules are to aviation and what usually happens to you if you volterm.
If anyone has any insight that'd be awesome.

Brett327

None
Super Moderator
Contributor
If you want to stay in, I would look at lat xfer into another community rather than be in some designatorless black hole. I've known some guys in your situation that have gone into IWO or Intel. Check out your options, then involve your front office and detailer as necessary.

Brett

snizo

Supply Officer
One of my supply corps classmates was a former GenAv type. The Navy retained him through O-3 as a GenAv officer, but he redesignated because the Navy was forcing all general aviation LT's out. Now this was about two years ago, but considering GenAv is pretty much a "designatorless black hole" with a questionable future at any given time - you'd be wise to avoid general aviation.

insanebikerboy

Internet killed the television star
pilot
None
Contributor