• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

What are the possibilities?

Hempdiddy

Hello, I'm posting here to share what I understand (so far) about becoming a military aviator and to get some feedback from some of the experienced pilots that post here.

Mainly, I want to know if I can still become a fighter/bomber/recon pilot. I just turned 26 years old, have a B.S. in Urban and Regional Planning with a minor in Geography. My college GPA is 3.2. My health and eyesight are good; 6'0" 170lbs. I graduated school a few years ago, but am realizing sitting behind a desk is not for me. I've always wanted to be a pilot, and if its still an option for me through the armed forces, please let me know.

This is what I understand of the Air Force: enlist, goto OTS (because I already have a degree and need a commission), then ???. At what point can I earn a flight slot? I've read that only a few pilots each year are given a slot from OTS, as the academy and ROTC get first selections...?

HERE IS THE MAIN QUESTION: As a 26 yr.old with no prior flight experience, is flying a jet in the military an option for me? If so, what branch/ road to the cockpit do you suggest?

- Jason "Hempdiddy" Hempel

HH-60H

Manager
pilot
Contributor
There are several threads on AW that address those very questions. A quick search would give you some good answers.

I do believe that your age is going to be a major problem in getting a commission. Someone else might be able to give you some more details.

Steve Wilkins

Teaching pigs to dance, one pig at a time.
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
You're still young enough and I see you already have your bacheor's degree. This is all good news.